The Northern Premier League

News Archive

Search : 

14 May 2022 : Ryan Brooke stars at emotional presentation night for Runcorn Linnets

Free-scoring Ryan Brooke stole the show during Runcorn Linnets' end-of-season presentations at APEC Taxis Stadium.

It was a very emotional occasion for all concerned as farewells were said to manager Calum McIntyre, who received a framed photograph from the club as a memento of his successful two years in charge.

Linnets' 34-goal top scorer Ryan bagged a hat-trick of awards - lifting the Jimmy Lightfoot Trophy as Runcorn Supporters Club's Player of the Season and Alan Jones's President's Trophy for leading the club's goal charts.

In the climax to the evening, attended by close to 100 people, he also walked away with the coveted George Worrall Trophy for Players' Player of the Year.

The charismatic centre forward had already claimed the Pitching In Northern Premier League West Division's Golden Boot for his 25 league goals in 2021-22.

He is also a finalist in the NPL Supporters' Player award, which encompasses all four divisions of the league at Step 3/4.

The Phil Tyler Trophy for Young Supporters Player of the Year was claimed by midfield playmaker and set-piece specialist Iwan Murray, who was also in prolific form over the season.

"Magic Murray's" scoring tally of 19 included the spectacular long-range effort against Leek Town, which had already won April's NPL Goal of the Month award and has now earned him the Linnets' Goal of the Season prize, the Bettley Trophy.

This has traditionally been presented in memory of lifelong Linnets fan Wilf Bettley, but now also honours his widow  and stalwart Runcorn supporter Joan, who died in September last year aged 90. 

There was more than a touch of sadness with Calum McIntyre attending the event a day after the announcement of his departure to Chester FC as first-team boss.

The club has nothing but praise and appreciation for Calum's work and overall contribution to the club over 22 months as manager and he leaves with all good wishes for a future, which Linnets fans are sure will be bright.

Calum's final duty was to present his Manager's Player of the Year award to centre half Sean O'Mahony, who he described as  "a warrior".

The Irishman made 48 appearances during the campaign  - more than any other Linnets player.

The manager admitted that saying goodbye to his squad, a special group of men and players, was the hardest thing.

There were two special awards - including one for club captain, Peter Wylie who during the season reached the 100-appearances landmark.

The 23rd player to have chalked up a century since the club's formation in 2006, Peter has been with the Linnets for just one game short of four seasons.

The defender's August 2018 debut came in their maiden NPL home game. 9 The other special award was to Alan Jones for outstanding long service.

Alan had served predecessor club Runcorn AFC in various roles, including youth team manager, executive director and finally club secretary - his efforts ensuring that the club completed what was to prove a traumatic final season in 2005-06.

He was awarded the presidency of Runcorn Linnets when the club was founded that summer and has also more recently been elected to the Trust Board, managing the club shop and licensed bar.

The Noel Bell Award for contribution to the Linnets, presented annually by Sue Bell in memory of her husband, a Supporters Club stalwart, went to Alan Spendlove.

A very popular personality, club volunteer "Spenny" has been involved in many ground improvement projects over the years - his latest to provide additional spectator cover at the Forest End of the ground being his biggest yet.

This was one of two awards, which this year recognised the work of the  club's unpaid workforce.

The inaugural Volunteer of the Year award, sponsored by Diageo and presented on behalf of the  company (owners of Guinness) by Mike McEvoy, went to Tammy Anderson from the club's tea bar.

It was noted that Tammy's dedication to the Linnets is such that she can be found at the ground "on all days ending with a y."

Host for the evening, Trust Board member and Linnets Live Radio commentator, Sam Phillips praised supporters for their backing over the season.

He thanked principal club sponsors APEC Taxis, Complete Security Service and Grangeside for their terrific support before presenting gifts to all members of the management and backroom staff.

To top off the night, Runcorn Supporters chairman Stuart Houghton presented an £800 cheque as a donation to the football club from the fans organisation.

Presentation time - pictured clockwise from top left: Peter Wylie receives 100th appearance award from Trust Board member Dave Jones; Volunteer of the Year Tammy Anderson with Diageo's Mike McEvoy; Club volunteer Josh McCluskey, Ryan Brooke and Stuart Houghton; Sean O'Mahony with Calum McIntyre; Club president Alan Jones and Trust Board Member Josh Christian; Young Supporters Player of the Year Iwan Murray with Michael McEvoy.

Recent Headlines

24 Jun : Ex-Forest forward Nialle Rodney arrives at the APEC

24 Jun : Meet the Manager evening in clubhouse on Friday, July 1st

22 Jun : RIP John Roach - Linnets fan across eight decades

19 Jun : Iwan Murray bids farewell to Linnets

17 Jun : Ryan Brooke leaves Runcorn Linnets for Rylands after U-turn

16 Jun : Dapo back on the attack for Linnets next season

14 Jun : Billy Paynter completes backroom staff at Runcorn Linnets

14 Jun : Rhain Hellawell hungry for more in 2022-23

10 Jun : Linnets sign Spanish midfielder Sidi from Macclesfield

08 Jun : Sean O'Mahony named as new vice-captain

07 Jun : James Short promoted to club captain at Runcorn Linnets

07 Jun : Stalwart skipper Peter Wylie departs for City of Liverpool

07 Jun : Let's Go Wild to Support the Budget

06 Jun : Five more deals done by busy boss

06 Jun : Jamie Rainford appointed assistant manager

05 Jun : Stuart Crilly agrees terms for 2022-23

05 Jun : Another two join backroom staff as pre-season schedule is confirmed

03 Jun : More additions on the pitch and in the backroom

03 Jun : Catch up with the latest comings and goings

01 Jun : A warm welcome to new Runcorn Linnets manager Dave Wild

30 May : First-team coach Mike Allcock joins backroom exodus

26 May : Runcorn Linnets Under 21s issue trial game invitation

25 May : 2022-23 admission prices, season tickets and new junior matchday membership

21 May : Tribute to the late Arthur Easton, Linnets Trust member and fan

18 May : Reflections of "Spenny" - prize-winning volunteer

17 May : More managerial farewells as assistant Colin Woodthorpe heads for Chester

17 May : Dave Jones resigns from Trust Board of Runcorn Linnets

14 May : Ryan Brooke stars at emotional presentation night for Runcorn Linnets

Webb's of Runcorn
Cardiac Risk in the Young
Charter Standard Club
Respect FC - Uniting against the ugly side of football

Site Last Updated
20:12 24/6/2022

This site has had 6156645 Visitors

For comments, questions or corrections please Contact Us.
Payments can be made to the club through our Online Checkout facility via our payment page.
The site and its content are Copyright © 2001-2022 Runcorn Linnets FC. All rights reserved.
Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.
This site uses Cookies. If you do not consent to this, then please switch them off in your browser, or leave now.