top of page

NPL West increases to 22 teams for new season

The Football Association has released club allocations for the 2024-25 campaign in the National League System.

We will continue at Step 4 in Pitching In Northern Premier League West but the division has been expanded to 22 teams, meaning two extra home league games.

Leek Town and Prescot Cables have been promoted to Step 3 while 1874 Northwich drop to Step 5.

But Hednesford Town remain after beimg reprieved from relegation.

Coming into the division are Wythenshawe and Wythenshawe Town, both promoted from North West Counties League and, from the Midlands League, Congleton Town.

The Bears are familiar opponents from our shared NWCL days.

Similarly, Atherton Collieries  need no introduction following their relegation from NPL Premier.

Inaugural meetings with Stafford Rangers, who join Colls in making the drop, will remind long-standing Linnets fans of the many epic encounters between our predecesdors, Runcorn AFC and the men from Marston Road.

The NPL West line-up (subject to appeals) is:

  • Atherton Collieries

  • Avro

  • Bootle

  • Chasetown

  • City of Liverpool

  • Clitheroe

  • Congleton Town

  • Hanley Town

  • Hednesford Town

  • Kidsgrove Athletic

  • Mossley

  • Nantwich Town

  • Newcastle Town


  • Stafford Rangers

  • Stalybridge Celtic

  • Trafford

  • Vauxhall Motors

  • Widnes

  • Witton Albion

  • Wythenshawe

  • Wythenshawe Town

Recent Posts

See All

Deadline looms for season ticket discounts

Any supporters intending to buy a 2024-25 season ticket at a discount are reminded that the 'early bird' offer ends this Sunday (June 16th). From Monday, June 17th full prices will apply. Two extra ho


bottom of page